Skip to content

Fruity Lemonade

August 7, 2011

 

Per my vow to do more blogging, I spent the last few days thinking about a recipe to create for my blog. I pondered mostly on hearty vegetarian casseroles and sweet baked goods. However, it’s 110 degrees where I live. One day it was actually 115.

Yuck.

So, I took a different route. I have never made fresh lemonade before and have wanted to try it for years. I determined that record breaking heat outside is the perfect time to buy up some lemons and give it a go. And I didn’t have to turn on the oven. Big bonus.

IMG_0690

IMG_0691

I didn’t want to make plain ol’ lemonade though. I wanted to do something a little extra sweet and unique.

Cue the watermelon.

IMG_0703

And the pineapple juice.

IMG_0695

The end result was sooooo good!!! I must say, I was pretty darn proud of myself over this recipe. :-)

 

Fruity Lemonade

 

8 cups of water

1 3/4 cups sugar

1 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice

3/4 cup of pineapple juice (I simply drained the juice from a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks in natural juices)

2 cups of watermelon chunks

 

In a large saucepan over medium heat, mix together the water and sugar until the sugar is completely dissolved. Chill.

Blend together the watermelon chunks and pineapple juice. Important: After blending the pineapple juice and watermelon, a soft foam will rise to the surface of the liquid. Skim this off, as you do not want it to cloud up your lemonade.

Add the watermelon mixture and freshly squeezed lemon juice to the chilled water and sugar mixture. Mix together thoroughly and then drink the pooey out of it.

 

This lemonade is sweet and fruity. It is not especially tart. If you like it less sweet and more tart simply adjust how much sugar and lemon juice you use accordingly.

IMG_0737

IMG_0724

IMG_0732

IMG_0731

IMG_0738

 

 

I’m sipping my third glass as I type this. It’s like having dessert. I’m happy right now.

 

That is all. :-)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Naz Kovacs permalink
    August 8, 2011 12:36 am

    Oh wow this looks amazing! Will have to try it out :D

    • Penny permalink*
      August 9, 2011 3:30 pm

      Let me know if you do. :-)

  2. Lisa permalink
    August 9, 2011 5:28 am

    Beautiful Photographs Penny, my mouth is watering!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

