Skip to content

Canon AE-1

August 10, 2011

This is my new toy.

IMG_0761

     I‘m in love.

 DSC06238

 

After shooting my way through a roll of film a few weeks ago, I suddenly got the urge to try my hand at taking pictures with a vintage camera. I told myself that I have a beautiful Canon 50D (plus a Canon 35mm slr) and the last thing I need is an old, quirky film camera.

The more I told myself this, the more I wanted an old, quirky film camera.

Cue obsessive Ebay stalking.

IMG_0763

Gawd……look at how it just sits there being all sexy and smiling all coyly at me.

 

Anyway,

I won my ebay auction, received my much anticipated package, and began pouring over the instructions. (This 30-40 year old camera came with it’s original instruction manual. Awesomesauce.)  I loaded the film in, took a couple of shots, and then………..it sat in my room for over a week.

It’s over a hundred degrees where I live. It’s too dang hot for prancing around with a camera.

But today I could NOT stand it anymore, so I loaded up my boys (unwilling photo subjects) and made my way to the park to take my new bad girl camera for its first test drive.

I spent an hour taking carefully posed, focused pictures of my kids and other surroundings. I caught some really pretty shots.

And then I realized that my film was not loaded correctly. It wasn’t advancing at all. I was simply clicking the shutter release without recording anything on the film.

Now, I probably should’ve felt really stupid, but hey, I’m cool with it. You live, you learn.

So, with the park all behind us and the opportunity for serene and scenic shots behind us, I decided to burn up my roll of film (now properly loaded)  in under 5 minutes, standing outside my mothers house. I just had to know what the camera could do.

 

I could not have been more pleased with the turnout. I was certain I would screw up my first few rolls of film. I only had 3 shots that were not properly focused. Everything was accurately exposed. Kick ass.

I can’t wait to use up another roll of film.

 

Pardon my kids being dressed like hobos. :-)  The little one has an obsession with cowboy boots.

R1-03114-006A

R1-03114-011A

  R1-03114-012AR1-03114-016AR1-03114-018AR1-03114-021A

If you’re wondering why I have a picture of my shoes, it’s because I have pretty pink shoestrings. Of course.

 R1-03114-023A

200 speed Fuji.

 

Me loves.

And that is all.

Until next time.

 

(Check me out blogging 3 days in a row.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    August 10, 2011 3:59 pm

    Canon 50D!!! My very first camera. Oh the love.

    • Penny permalink*
      August 10, 2011 5:02 pm

      Such an awesome camera!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

